Skin Care in My Thirties

Sadly enough, I didn’t begin paying attention to skin care until I hit 29 and developed adult acne (after escaping it in my teenage years!). Even then did I not really take great care of my skin. However, being the product junkie that I am, I have recently been paying more attention to skincare products and thus paying more attention to my skins needs.

I have received tons of skin care samples through sampling services like ipsy and Birchbox so I decided to try a couple last night.

I used two skyn Iceland products: the fresh start mark and the hydro cool firming eye gels. I had received the mask months ago but never got around to trying and had sampled the eye gels through Birchbox and loved them enough to purchase at Ulta last week!

skyn iceland

The fresh start mask is a two part process. The instructions read “Spread a layer of the clay evenly over cleansed face, followed by an equal amount of gel until the blend starts to effervesce. Massage together to activate the two formulations in a warming foam. Leave on skin for 5 – 10 minutes, then wipe off with a damp washcloth and follow with a toner.” When I began to apply the clay to my face it tingled a bit (in a good way). I then applied the gel and let it sit for about 10 minutes and wiped clean with a hot wash cloth. The mask was very refreshing over all and left my skin feeling soft.

skyn iceland face mask applied

Me with the Fresh Start Mask Applied

Next, I followed up with the eye gels. The instructions read “Remove backing and apply gel side to under eye area for ten minutes. After treatment, gently peel away patch and follow with Icelandic Relief Eye Cream. Use once a week or whenever you need a quick fix!”.  As I mentioned earlier, I had already tried loved them, but I thought it would be a nice addition to my skincare routine. They leave the under eye area feeling firm and more relaxed (if that makes sense?).

When my husband saw me with them on his response was “what the heck is that on your face?”.

skyn hydro eye gels applied

Me with the Eye Gels Applied

I followed up with the Bliss Daily Detoxifying Facial Toner (which I recently scored for cheap during Macy’s online beauty sale!).

Over all, I really liked both products and I will definitely purchase the fresh start mask in the near future. I am in the process of trying a few other new facial products and will report back if I find anything I like.

Until then,
MBIF Logo

One thought on “Skin Care in My Thirties

Leave a Reply

